Department numbers Hospital map Parking Visiting times



As a public benefit corporation, we are owned by our 6,500-strong membership of patients, public and staff, who are represented by the governors' council. Our public governors are elected by the membership.

Our governors:

  • provide a direct link to our local community
  • represent the interests of members and the wider public in the stewardship and development of the Trust
  • advise the board of directors, who have the operational responsibility for running the hospital.

In this way the population served by our hospital is directly involved in the governance of the Trust.

Role of governors

Governors are very important to ensure a link between the members of the NHS Foundation Trust, the wider community and those who run the hospital.


Governors have a duty to represent the interests of the members of the Trust and the interests of the public as a whole.

Governors are responsible for holding the non-executive directors individually and collectively to account for the performance of the board of directors.


Chris Lawrence

Public governors

West Norfolk

Esme Corner

Prudence Fox

Gilli Galloway

John Greyson

Dr Julian Litten

Mike Press

Sara Shaw

Barbara Turner

Kenneth Wicks


Betty Lewis

Gary Monger

South East Lincolnshire

Chris Brewis

Alan Maltby - Deputy lead governor

Breckland, North Norfolk, and the rest of England

David Chittenden

Dr Antonia Hardcastle - Lead governor

Staff non-clinical governors

Sheena Johnson-Banks

Leanne Kendrick

Stewart Nimmo

Staff clinical governors

Three vacancies

Appointed governors

Jane Evans, West Norfolk Carers

Dr Sue Madden, University of East Anglia

Councillor Lesley Bambridge, Norfolk County Council

Andy Walder, Freebridge Community Housing

Councillor Peter Wilkinson, Breckland Council

Rachel Boast, College of West Anglia

Councillor Alexandra Kemp, Borough Council of King's Lynn & West Norfolk